Appeals Sub-Committee (School Transport)

MINUTES OF THE APPEALS SUB-COMMITTEE (SCHOOL TRANSPORT) MEETING HELD ON 15 JUNE 2023 AT THE CONTROL ROOM, THE ENTERPRISE NETWORK: THE OLD FIRE STATION - SALISBURY - 2 SALT LANE, SALISBURY SP1 1DU.

Present:

Cllr Andrew Davis (Chair), Cllr Tony Jackson and Cllr David Vigar

7 <u>Election of Chairman</u>

Councillor Andrew Davis was elected as Chairman for this appeal only.

CIIr Davis in the Chair

8 **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations of interest.

9 Minutes

Resolved:

To approve the minutes of the School Transport Appeal held on 12 June 2023 as a true and correct record.

10 Meeting Procedure

The Chairman outlined the meeting procedure as detailed in the agenda.

11 Exclusion of the press and public

The panel considered whether or not to hold the meeting in closed session and it was:

Resolved

To exclude members of the press and public for the business specified in Item no. 5 in accordance with section 100A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972, (paragraph 1 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A to the Act).

12 School Transport Appeal

The panel heard representations and replies from the Transport Officer and the appellant and asked questions of the parties involved.

Decision:

The panel found that the Transport Officer's report was accurate and the recommendation made was within the Council's policy. However, based on the facts of this case, the panel exercised their discretion to make an exception in the following terms: a contribution to the cost of school transport of £900 for the school year 2023/24 and pro rata for the remainder of the year 2022/23.

(Duration of meeting: 10:00 am - 11:00 am)

The Officer who has produced these minutes is Democratic Services Officer -Cameron Osborn of Democratic Services, e-mail: cameron.osborn@wiltshire.gov.uk.

Press enquiries to Communications, direct line 01225 713114 or email communications@wiltshire.gov.uk